[Question] Printing Guild Logo

I'm not an expert but I believe that legally yes its still a copyright issue even if you dont monetize it, but whether Anet want to spend the time and money to go after you is another matter - things like this isnt really enforcable in practice. Hell no one would even know if you hadnt said anything.

I mean at least Anet isnt Disney. They havent released a worse live action version of GW2. Yet.

• Like 2

43 minutes ago, kharmin.7683 said:

You won't get an official answer here.  Best to submit a ticket to Support and they can pass it along.

Thanks, I'll do that! Do you know which category would be the most appropriate? Account/Game/Technical/Purchase & Billing Support, or Personal Data Management. Or should I just go with a random one, since it's not really about any of these topics? 

3 hours ago, Dawdler.8521 said:

I'm not an expert but I believe that legally yes its still a copyright issue even if you dont monetize it, but whether Anet want to spend the time and money to go after you is another matter - things like this isnt really enforcable in practice. Hell no one would even know if you hadnt said anything.

I mean at least Anet isnt Disney. They havent released a worse live action version of GW2. Yet.

Suing your players for this reason would also be a PR disaster. Even for cases where they are more or less legally required to do so such as in the case of trademark it is still going to have poor reception.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Definitely contact them as you intend.  I'll just add that while you may only be doing it for personal use, the question is, are you paying someone else to create the item?  If you're ordering a coffee mug or t shirt with your provided image on it, then even though you personally aren't doing it for money, the person selling you the custom item is and they are making a sale using ANet's art.  Which, of course, is a Bad Thing.