When do you use Unleash Ranger vs Unleash Pet?

TheLadyOfTheRings.9148

Hi fellow Rangers!

As I'm still learning how to play Untamed, one of the things I'm trying to get better at is knowing when to switch from Unleashed Ranger to Unleashed Pet and vice-versa. 

I'd love to read your thoughts on this and your experience. I for example switch more often when I wanna do more damage (or do damage more quickly?) because the Unleashed Pet is way stronger than its non-unleashed version, and also switch to cure conditions. 

What about you? 

There's a big problem with your mindset about unleashing here- the unleashed pet isn't stronger with the unleash effect on them. Only you get the 25% damage boost and the 10% damage reduction.

Honestly in my experience, if you really want to play untamed, you only unleash the pet for a finnicky projectile block, boon conversion, trying to get the pet to come to your target faster, or you're taking too many hits and need some damage reduction.

You do NOT want to unleash the pet in almost any other circumstance. And even then, being untamed isn't always worth the utility you lose from core ranger traits, even in pve open world.

If you are learning untamed because you think it might be good in instanced content as a DPS, sorry to say, but as of right now you're better off with soulbeast if you have access to it.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, RainbowTurtle.3542 said:

There's a big problem with your mindset about unleashing here- the unleashed pet isn't stronger with the unleash effect on them. Only you get the 25% damage boost and the 10% damage reduction.

Honestly in my experience, if you really want to play untamed, you only unleash the pet for a finnicky projectile block, boon conversion, trying to get the pet to come to your target faster, or you're taking too many hits and need some damage reduction.