PvP as a returnee or newbie I guess

chaoslordlol.3165

So id like to give some insights on what its like to start with sPvp after years or basically a newbie take. 

I started with my main elementalist but god they feel so terrible right now if you dont play support you dont play elementalist right now and im not a fan of playing support so I switched to thief since I really like the playstyle I guess. 

Alright after getting pretty much the first few matches oneshot by everything I was like alright this is terrible so I watched a few videos on what few classes do. I mostly got melted by mesmers, Guardians, whatever ranger spec doesnt matter, some thiefs and here and there few revenants but those were far and few stretched honestly. 

After like taking some videos of my gameplay and analyzing them I looked at the classes combos and like at what point my hp went from 100 to 0 in a second. After about 10-20 further frustrating losses ( Im always pendling between S1 to gold 3 ranking and cant get higher by any means) I learned on how to deal with some of the oneshots especially mesmers guardians and the occasional revenantplayer and a few thiefs some still simply outplay me because they are more experienced or dont meme around with a troll spec like Deadeye and play seriously daredevil :x 

But my honest complain  is always ranger I just cant deal with this class at all. If its a druid with a staff that instantly kills me a soulbeast killing me at higher range then me or even close combat eitherway I feel outclassed by each and every ranger spec. I understand that a lot of it will come from git gut issue but feels like the class was made for infants? A lot of rangers do way better then a lot of idk mesmers as example or guardians that used to roll me all the time but cant anymore if I really try hard. 
Is the meta simply as it is right now or is it generally just no chance a deadeye has against whatever ranger spec because it outranges / outdpsses him anyday?