Queue times for unranked PVP

Tonks.8052

Hi all,

I am new to GW2 and PVP in general (aside from Destiny's PVP). I'm wondering if there is something wrong on my end, as even though the estimated wait time is listed under two minutes, I'm waiting upwards of four to five minutes. Is this typical, and if so have the game devs addressed it? It would seem to me this would disincentivize new players and established players alike from wanting to play.  Thank you.

• Like 1

Depends on time of day and also sPvP seems more active on weekends.  

Some of it might be the matchmaker--if you go over estimated time, just requeue; it's probably superstition, but doing that has not only gotten me faster games but also better matches.  Seems if you leave the matchmaker to go way past its estimated it starts taking 'supplements' and comes up with some rather uniquely frustrating team comps.  

Finally, sPvP isn't really hugely popular in GW2 to begin with as GW2 is kind of casual by nature.  So, a lot of your wait is probably due to that, especially if you are going to compare it to FPS like Destiny.  

My overall suggestion is only Q as ranked and don't worry about your actual ranking.  Get better rewards and the same sweats from ranked also play unranked anyway, so if you are going to face them better at least be in an environment where they have to pretend to try.  

• Like 3

6 hours ago, Tonks.8052 said:

Hi all,

I am new to GW2 and PVP in general (aside from Destiny's PVP). I'm wondering if there is something wrong on my end, as even though the estimated wait time is listed under two minutes, I'm waiting upwards of four to five minutes. Is this typical, and if so have the game devs addressed it? It would seem to me this would disincentivize new players and established players alike from wanting to play.  Thank you.

Be sure you are searching for "all gamemodes".