Engi Thoughts

Cattoo.4659

So, I admit that I am new to the game (220 hours), most of that play time is on the engineer. I admit I do not have the most informed opinion because of this. Still, I have some thoughts about the class that I want to share in a public place.

1. Comparison to Ele

Engineers are supposed to be comparable to Ele in complexity, this seems like the idea behind the engi, tankier, with less potential dps than the ele. I feel as though the kit system kinda works to detriment this. Engis with 1 kit effectively get the normal amount of weapon skills, and 7 utility skills (I say this because toolbelt skills with the exception of the rifle turret one feel like them.) This in no way compares to Eles with 20 weapon skills and 3 utility skills, especially considering the fact that utility skills are defined by long cooldowns. This gets a little better with holosmith, considering the fact that photon forge has the heat mechanic, and from my playtime with condi-smith, this is just fine mechanically if you put a kit with it. Still, the base engineer is severely lacking in the complexity it is supposed to have. My solution for this would be to give the class weapon swapping; I am aware that this is antithetical to the class's design, and this is a rant about that. Still, I would argue in comparison to the class that engi is supposed to be on the same level as complexity wise, I think this will honestly be reasonable. I also acknowledge this would require A-Net to effectively double the weapons engi has access to, which would admittedly be dev resources spent on a weird idea.

2. Condi-Scrapper

I have no idea why this isn't in the game. I think it may be that you would still be able to generate barrier whilst disabled, but I have no idea, so I would like clarification here.

3. I hate mechanists