New Player - Mesmer Viability

Jerikko.2618

I am new to GW2, first character is only level 30. I really enjoy mesmer play style. I haven't played a class like it in any other MMO and it keeps me engaged more than other classes, since there is a bit more micro-management. I also enjoy the mobility and flashy play style. I figured since this is my first play through character I will mostly focus on PvE/story/leveling/achievements. I have seen a lot of posts stating the mesmer is no longer viable with recent nerfs and is a struggle, so my question is will I have a hard time in PvE content as a mesmer? Open world/Fractals/Raids? Or are the struggles of the class mostly limited to PvP? Thanks in advance for any responses.

In Open world and story, you can literally play any class and any (within reason) build and be viable. Spec mostly for damage and you'll be fine, don't go like full minstrel's and try to kill stuff cause your damage will suck and you won't be able to kill anything but also won't die so... Damage...

In Raids, mesmers are ok only because of how much boons everyone else is giving you. It's a 10 man content so of course, you'll be all booned out which will cover any shortcommings. The skill rotation is one of the most complicated ones though. But as most raiders will tell you, each boss requires separate tactics and builds etc., so if you raid, you should have multiple characters anyway.

In Fractals, Mesmers are outclassed by practically everyone. In T1 and T2 you can bring almost any class, doesn't matter, T3 is where things start getting harder and in T4 you should have an optimal build. Mesmers aren't that optimal in raids.

In WvW, Mesmers are reduced to kind of support kind of utility Chronomancer, and their damage is nerfed to the ground. Mirage elite in WvW and PvP has only one dodge and it's so jarring having to play like that because of how the game works so Mirage in WvW is dead.