Does anyone think engineer should get a one-handed core power weapon?

Arimas.3492

I'll preface this by saying yes I'm an Engineer main, its the only class I can play all the time and not get bored and honestly the only class that keeps me playing GW2 at all, so I'm a bit bias in agreeing with my own post, but anyway what do you guys think? Engineer only has pistol to compliment shield currently as a core engineer and pistol is a condition damage weapon. I don't browse the other profession's forums much but here on the engineer forum there's a lot of talk about reworks mostly on Scrapper but also core engi, would adding a new weapon to go with shield for power build users be too much?

Engineer only has pistol to compliment shield currently as a core engineer and pistol is a condition damage weapon.

shield is a defensive CC weapon not a power dps weapon, so i don't see what the issue is.

i think they should fix the issues with what engi already has before adding more stuff

Scrapper uses hammer and Holosmith uses the rifle, both weapons that benefit mostly from power damage. This leaves core engineer with the pistols, a weapon set that has been butchered to death thanks to the power creep and currently is about as useful as Spirit weapons.

Core engineer benefits the most from hybrid/condition damage compared to the elite counterparts. Having a one handed power weapon would very likely come with elite specializations like a mace. For core weapons, it comes down to either buffing the pistols which I highly doubt will ever happen or buffing the kits to allow core engineer to apply conditions more frequently. I'd much rather see the kits buffed than the pistols because core engineer relies on them a lot.