Pets & Balance Philosophy - Minimizing Bad Choices, Power Budget and general lack of clarity.

Ranys.4028

I know Anet, I'm opening up an old and very big can of worms here, but if you want to stand by the philosophy that you posted, now is the time to start working on this.
I started playing ranger since I like pet classes. Some pets make noticeable impact. Most don't. Quite a few are depressingly underwhelming.

I'm not asking for a full pet rebalanced in the near future. I know this is going to take time and effort that is better spent elsewhere in many cases. It's not like we don't have good pet-choices right now. Rather, I'd like you to consider updating the older or underwhelming pets one at a time so that our choices expand.

The newer pets, from HoT onwards, often find some kind of niche in the major game modes, but even then there are exceptions.
I'll start of with the pets that are more unique and then tackle the rest mostly by category. Any of the unique ones that I don't mention are the ones I obviously think have found a place in one of the game-modes.

Also, I will sometimes be referring to Mukluk's recent testing on ranger-pet DPS for some of my points.

So let's get this started:

The unique cases:
Phoenix, Fire Wyvern:
These two are totally different pets, but they have a common problem: They're too kitten clunky to use.
They are visually pleasing and I wish it was also a joy to use them in game-play, so I could look at them and their awesome animations more often.

Gale Breath and Consuming Flame are both very long animations that make the pet somewhat stationary.
Often, the payoff for using these abilities will be lacking, because it takes so long to use them, often the target will already be dead or have moved.
Adding to that, Consuming Flames fire field shows, against a normal players intuition, not there when you start to see the skills flames, but only when the animation has run it's full course(about 8 seconds).