Completely Lost...

Hi guys. I recently purchased the Deluxe edition of the upcoming Expansion (Secrets of The Obscure), and my main Character is level 40 (Elementalist). I am in the Queensdale area, which dropped my Character to level 5 for zone. I have not completed the main story/base game, or any of the Expansions so far. I am not sure where to go or what to be doing, am completely lost. I have several level 80 boosts, but not sure if I should use them as I am still fairly new to game and mechanics. Also, what is a good Class/Profession for GW2 beginners? I have been reading on here that Elementalist is a difficult Profession/Class for beginners. Any help is greatly appreciated  🙂

Edited by Shane.4023
Updated

There is literally nothing you have to do.  Everything you do grants experience from killing enemies to exploring the map, completing objectives, or playing through the story content.  If you want to hang out in low level maps you can do that, too.  It's 100% choose your own adventure.  The only thing that really forces you to keep moving through the world are story episodes and collecting hero points to unlock your traits.

As for the 80 boost, if you're confused with the core game you're really going to be overwhelmed if you jump into the expansion content.  On the plus side, if you're finding the low levels too easy and you're getting bored, the expansions are a big jump in difficulty.  The maps are also more interesting and rewarding and the boost gives you a full set of level 80 celestial exotic gear which is perfect for elementalist elite specs in solo play.

If you're looking for some structure, the story episodes that unlock every 10 levels are really about it for what this game provides in its leveling process.  The expansions are structured a bit differently, with maps that are integrated with the story and a loose system of gating content via skill unlocks called masteries.

• Like 5