Japanese Language Input Support 日本語

皆さん、こんにちは!

Hey everyone, I am studying Japanese while playing GW2 and I know some people who are also Japanese who play this game too. I would love to practice chatting with them in game using Japanese text. I was hoping to see if we can get support for this because so far GW2 only supports English and Chinese text. It would be awesome to get other language input support for those who are learning other languages and want to play with friends at the same time in game.

ArenaNet, please support Japanese IME text 🥰

ありがとうございます!🙏

• Like 6
  • Thanks 2
  • Confused 9

14 hours ago, DreamyAbaddon.3265 said:

Well you can already type in Chinese... So why not just add Japanese IME?

China is one of the three main regions for GW2, so of course they needs to support that. Japan, on the other hand, is not.

Also, if they added the language, they'd probably also people to support the language and possibly even monitor is usage to detect inappropriate use. I doubt they are keen on spending money on hiring people to do that.

Adding a language to a game is more than just enabling it to be used in chat.

14 hours ago, DreamyAbaddon.3265 said:

FF14 lets you type between languages.

And in FF14, Japan is one of the main regions (arguably even THE main region). Also, Square Enix is Japanese, so of course they are going to support their mother tongue.

Square Enix may also be more willing to pay people for supporting and monitoring a bigger number of Languages.

Edited by Fueki.4753
  • Like 3
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 3

7 hours ago, Fueki.4753 said:

Also, if they added the language, they'd probably also people to support the language and possibly even monitor is usage to detect inappropriate use. I doubt they are keen on spending money on hiring people to do that.