Thoughts about how to improve the PvE instanced content in GW2. Maybe I am wrong? I don't know.

Hello, guys. Recently I started playing FF14 and that, weirdly enough, brought some thoughts about GW2 instance PvE to me. I made this post to share them, and maybe get a different perspective from you... but I don't really expect Arenanet to react, take into account, or even read this. I write this just to get it out of my head.

That said, let's get started.

These thoughts started with wondering what makes FF14 so successful at instanced PvE compared to GW2 which struggles with it. Someone might say it is because of the holy trinity of tank, healer, and dps which makes it possible for the devs to make incredible encounters and mechanics.

I find that explanation lazy.

Before somebody gets angry at me for that, please let me explain myself. The game already possesses its own holy trinity. Just look at the LFG and what people are looking for. For dps, there are the quickness provider, the alacrity provider, and the regular pure dps. There is the tank in certain encounters that can also be dps or boon support. And there are healers that are always also boon supports.

There you go. GW2's own holy trinity... just with more versatility. In FF14, one class has one build and one correct playstyle (or so I was told. After all, I am quite new in FF14, so don't take my word for it). In GW2 that doesn't hold true but that doesn't mean the game lacks defined roles. They are just different.

Of course, that doesn't mean I think creating PvE instance content is easy for the devs. I remember MightyTeapot saying in one of his videos that creating encounters for GW2 PvE is hard because of how complicated the combat is and the sheer variety of builds/utilities various classes bring to the table (Yes, I am looking at you, Mr. Stability bot called guardian). To a degree, I agree just like many others... but I think the entire problem could be approached from a different angle.