Balance Issues - Why were they not ironed out beforehand?

Vagrant.7206

I'm not going to say that this is an easy game to balance. It's complicated, with many interweaving mechanics. But balance is one of those important factors that needs to be examined critically when implementing new content. When one class is unusually powerful and gets nerfed, players for the class cry foul. When one class is unusually weak and gets buffed, other players cry foul. By not ironing out balance, damage, CC's, etc. beforehand, ANet is setting itself up for complaints of all sorts. It breeds distrust among players and ultimately hurts the game's perception. In the long run, the wild balance swings make the PvP scene intolerable and causes players to leave the PvP scene, if not the entire game. As an engineer myself, I'm well aware of the nerf hammer, and saddened that the lack of quick balance corrections results in me not wanting to play my own preferred class.

With the latest expansion coming out and all sorts of wonky balance (which many noticed in the preview weekends), I can't help but wonder if ArenaNet spent much time at all considering balance? Let's take a look at the new elite specs and figure out what is going wrong:

• Spellbreaker is pretty much only useful in PvP, but I think this was ANet's design intention.
  • Firebrand has incredible DPS in PvE, but rarely appear in PvP. I haven't played it enough to know why, but I suspect it's the lack of cover condis in PvP, which is also the reason they do so well in PvE.
  • I haven't seen enough renegades to have an informed opinion about them.
  • Deadeye is almost objectively worse than existing builds in PvP, and it's also worse in PvE. It needs to be made worth the time, but not overpowered either. ANet leaned too strongly towards preventing OP status, and resulted in an elite spec that landed with a dull thud.