'Guest' servers - What's happening on our servers now?

Ra Ra.9423

First point: This is not a 'my server is better than your server' question. Nor is it a plea to stop the pairing system, as I believe the population isn't there to support the 24 servers separately. It's really about my curiosity if other players who are on guest servers are beginning to feel they have no real 'home' anymore.

Background context: I've been playing WvW for four years or so, and saw the decline in WvW numbers. (yes - pre-pairing I was one of the two people watching over the BL's at odd hours :P ) So I was interested and happy to see the pairings that would bring more players on the maps. At that time, my server was one of the host servers, and we felt it important to recognize that the guest servers were included in any of the gg's that happened when we took and objective or won a battle. Over the weeks our server dropped to guest server status due to reasons including guild transfers to other servers and have remained in guest server status. So - first hand experience of how it feels to be a 'guest' server.

The Here and Now: Since pairing began, I have seen our server's player base decline, and now have maybe two guilds that have a number of wvw players/ organized play. And we still have a number of havoc or roamer players. (I'm aware players/guilds transfer all the time, and our server has had many ups and downs over the years)The interesting thing to me is in looking at the leaderboard rating scores. It has become clear that guest servers will always be guest servers, with no chance to advance to host server levels. I point this out, because I had thought there would be that opportunity to 'advance' your server the same as had been available prior to pairing, and I was a bit taken aback to realize, in reviewing the rating scores, that this could never be.