black lion chests

Drex.1058

are they worth buying the keys for?i just started playing and i would think they are a rarer drop but in a week i have gotten 6 to drop so far. they seem more of a way to get you to spend more cash on the game, or spend gold and hope u can fine one in AH.

Short answer: No.

Long answer: Nnnnnnnoooooooo

Informative answer: Ever heard of RNG boxes or loot crates? Black Lion Chests are GW2's version. They're basically a lucky dip - you're guaranteed to get something but most of the time it will be something not that great and probably not worth the cost of a key. There are of course a few very good drops too (some of which are worth a few thousand gold) but the majority of the time you will not get them. You can right-click a chest and select 'preview' to see a list of all the possibly drops sorted by rarity - but it won't tell you the exact odds, for that you need to look online for drop rate data from players.

At the moment you're guaranteed to get the top two items on the list from every chest. The Mini Jackal Pup can be used (like all mini pets it just follows you around), sold, or combined with Unidentified Dyes to make different colours of Jackal Pups - but the full collection is quite expensive. The Black Lion Statuette is quite good, if you open a lot of chests, it's a guaranteed way to get some of the rarer drops from the chests. You'll get another 2-3 items from each chest but that's likely to be 2 common items or 2 common and 1 uncommon.

In general you'll be better off converting the gems you would have spent on keys into gold and buying the things you wanted (if they're tradable, which most of them are). It's only worth buying keys if you enjoy the gambling aspect - the excitement of using a key and waiting to see what you got. Or if you really, really want one of the account bound drops and you're prepared to spend a lot of money to get it.