Profession with best variety?

I'm a terrible altoholic, i started playing day 1, i currently have a character for each profession and to this day no main, all leveled in pvp for the most part.

I played the game on and off and now i may be able to introduce a new player to it, the plan is to get a new character slot (hopefully it goes on sale with the anniversary) and level up alongside them.

However, while i normally can just switch character nonstop, it'd be nice to stick with one while playing with them, makes for a more fun narrative.

Now, i know all the professions to a decent degree, but i've been away for a long time so i'm clueless in terms of balance, hence the question:

Which profession has the best variety in terms of weapons, traits, abilities and specializations? Meaning which profession has the least "mandatory" or "useless" elements, across all modes?

What i like to do is to focus on a weapon/trait/utility skill and build around it, rinse and repeat. I'm fond of being able to fulfill different roles as well.

In general, if something feels mandatory (think trickery, shadowstep and shortbow on thief spvp) or too niche/weak (think most engineer's turrets) then it's way more likely for me to find cases where a skill/trait i like isn't worth building around, or where it's too much of a drawback not to pick something.

This is especially true for specializations, i'm not fond of professions where elite specs are always preferred over core (eg: why pick core ele over tempest or weaver?).

I think mesmer, thief, guardian, necro and ranger are the best in that regard, but that's literally half the professions so it doesn't solve my doubts.

I've been most fond of thief and mesmer (love the mobility and stealth, lots of fun shenanigans), guardian (bunker and bursty with meditations, it's fun to become a projectile and teleport in people's faces with a hammer) and necro (mostly power with wells, worked wonders in spvp back in the day).