Something has to be done about living world season costs

Eraser.9860

Hi, 

I have been playing since 2012 and I had a few friends who started with steam and are really enjoying the game. We have gone through all base content and all season 1 episodes that are available. 

They wanted to go ahead and move to season 2 while we wait for more episodes for season 1 but were really discouraged to find they had to pay an extra $20 for season 2. They had already bought HOT and POF and were really disappointed. They eventually decided not to purchase. Something really needs to be done about the cost of the living world seasons. I personally think they're too costly and turning people away from the game. Thoughts?

• Like 25
  • Haha 2
  • Confused 13

I agree, but anet seems to think it's not very important (then again, there are a lot of things that seem not very important because they don't appear to be doing anything about them, so maybe it's just too few people trying to pay attention to too many things, idk). They did a bundle for steam at the last minute after a huge amount of posts about the issue (here and on reddit) on an ongoing basis, but afaik, it's not much of a discount if it is one at all, it's just a large price tag to buy it all at once.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1
  • Confused 9
  • Sad 1

They should consider a fixed and specified timer where content is released free after X years. As the seasons accumulate, the effective startup cost for potential new players would balloon to the aversion stage, even as the need for new customers to replenish departed or established vets also grows.

edit1: Either that, or an automatic reduction to half price.

edit2: or even a gems % rebate when bought from webstore (as opposed to via currency exchange)

Edited by casualkenny.9817
  • Like 12
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 4

I paid 60 euros for base game, 50 euros for HoT, 30 euros for PoF and 30 for EoD. Total: 170 euros