Rookie question with WvW roaming..

Joxer.6024

Ok, so I am fairly new to all this, as it has been awhile (5yrs) since I last dabbled in WvW...how does one stay alive?

What I mean is I am running Harb, per Guildjen's build, and do "ok" but man o' man most times I get pwned. Now, granted most of this is skill level (me, none) but i do manage kills but most of the time their health just doesnt drop! I fought a Ren and was unloading everything and his\hers health didnt even budge!! What gives? 

Are there like uber strong builds that you just cant win against....or does it really come down to skill, aka mine vs theirs?

• Like 2

Usually skill.

You don't necessarily want to "unload everything". Yeah you might catch people, but there are good players out there who will bait that "unload" from you, cleanse it and attack in the gap where you have no defenses. Learn to bait skills/dodges from your enemy, learn to kite, learn to use line of sight, the environment in your favor.

Also, consider that the best players out there usually have tried, if not actively play, EVERY class. EVERY build. So they know the usual combos, the cooldowns, the weaknesses and when to hit you.  If you ONLY play necro, only repeatedly dying will (eventually) give you that kind of insight on class matchups.

• Like 6
  • Thanks 2

5 hours ago, Joxer.6024 said:

Ok, so I am fairly new to all this, as it has been awhile (5yrs) since I last dabbled in WvW...how does one stay alive?

What I mean is I am running Harb, per Guildjen's build, and do "ok" but man o' man most times I get pwned. Now, granted most of this is skill level (me, none) but i do manage kills but most of the time their health just doesnt drop! I fought a Ren and was unloading everything and his\hers health didnt even budge!! What gives? 

Are there like uber strong builds that you just cant win against....or does it really come down to skill, aka mine vs theirs?