Should I return to GW2 ("boomer" warning)

Hello everyone.

This is my first time making a post in GW2 forum, so please forgive me if I'm writing in the wrong place. Do tell which is the correct place to put such questions.

When I started GW2, everyone was talking crazy about how hard heart of thorns was. I loved this game with all my heart. Everything about it. The voice over, the colors, the classes, the world, the lore. Then I went through some of the harshest financial troubles of my life and couldn't afford internet for a while (or food for that matter). World turns around and now I have a great job and a nice pay.

I tried returning earlier for the path of fire expansion, but the game was so... different. I couldn't recognize it with all the mounts and everything. I still gave it a try and made an engineer. I worked all the way up to 80 and then worked to get the photon smith class... and didn't like it. Which crushed me. Mind you, there's nothing wrong with the class, nothing wrong at all. It's just a high risk high reward playstyle and it wasn't anything like the engineer I spent 80 levels leveling up. Please be aware that I've read the class and watched videos and checked the meta at the time, I wasn't going in blind. But it didn't "feel" the way I thought it would.

My main was a Revenant of Glint's, sword and shield and hammer. Optimized? No. Fun? Absolutely. The sheer pleasure of reversing damage and having untouchable moments from bosses allowed me to get my (only) legendary glider Ad Infinitum, my greatest conquest in game, which probably may sound minor to some of you, but I'm so proud of it.

I have yet to buy the latest expansion and the game has gotten so big, so... overwhelming. I had so much trouble memorizing the paths of the jungles, the game is HARD and unforgiving at some points, which really adds to it. You gotta "git gud", there's no "farming and come back later". I'm... afraid, I guess.