Griffon (At this point in time)

I've been a Guild Wars veteran since the 2005 beta for GW1...over the years I've taken breaks, mostly after completing expansion content....I Just recently returned from a hiatus (didn't play much of HoT besides unlocking gliding, really)

Now that I'm working on completing the PoF storyline...is the Griffon collection still relatively 'doable' this much time into the expansion? I don't mean the finding collectibles aspect, I'm leaning more towards finding groups for the group events that yield collection items. I've seen people who say it took them a solid day of playing to unlock their griffon. I'd really like to pursue this, since it's a pretty sweet end-game reward that I'll be able to enjoy all across the maps....but is it still doable? Thank you.

Yes, it's definitely possible.

Even during the early part of Wintersday I was able to find people to do the group events with. It may not be as simple as showing up to find tons of people also waiting for it to spawn, but I've never had the opportunity to even attempt one alone. Last time I did one for example as I was on my way to where I suspected the event was (I'm trying to avoid guides) someone asked in map chat if anyone was doing it and if they knew where to go, several people replied and we all got together to do it. By the time we'd found the spot and the event chain was ready to start there was about 10 people there, by the time the boss spawned we were being asked to slow down to make sure everyone tagged it and when I left a second group was forming ready for the next time the event started.