Is it safe for my wife to mail me a legendary as a birthday gift?

A bit of context regarding this question: I've heard a lot of horror stories, and map chat in Lion's Arch spooked me out that people have been falsely banned for receiving legendaries in the mail from trusted people that they personally know. After doing some research, I did find many reddit threads alluding to this being the case.

My birthday was on the 20th of May. I've been eyeing meteorlogicus for a while since I think it's beautiful and very very eye-catching. Since my wife had an extra gift of exploration, she decided to put together all the materials and has the legendary in her inventory as we speak, ready to mail it. However, we're both kind of worried that it may trigger a false-positive and lead to a ban.

My wife and I have been playing together since 2014, and we typically log in from the same location so we should have a similar IP address. I believe I have plenty of evidence to contact Anet in such a rare case (I've even made paypal payments on her account from the email associated with my Gw2 account) but I'd ideally prefer to avoid the ordeal altogether. So, I'm just trying to scope out what the situation looks like - whether false bans are a common thing, whether it's likely to happen, etc etc.

If anyone has received a legendary from a friend/SO/guildy, I'd appreciate if you could elucidate your experience or perhaps shed some reassurance/relief.

If you have traded other valuable items before with each other over a long time you are probably fine. It's those out of the blue transactions where people have never exchanged anything before that gets in trouble because that's often a sign of rmt. It also couldn't hurt to include why you sent it in the mail itself I guess.

Yes it's fine, but it's a good idea for her to put something in the mail to make it clear it's a birthday gift.