Speculation on the two landmasses to the southwest of the Maguuma Jungle and to the west of Cantha

fiftysixpearo.1638

Hello,

I don't know if there's a topic about this already, but if not now there is. Let me preface by saying I have only played the first game to a certain point (I was filtered by the difficulty, but i'm not very good at party management games to begin with), so if this is something I can figure out by playing the first game I'll get better at it for the sake of learning about these places.

Example 1, the large landmass to the southwest of the Maguuma jungle.

Example 2, the small landmass poking out to the west of Cantha.

I was wondering what everyone thinks the landmass to the southwest of Maguuma and the very small piece of land poking out to the west of Cantha might be? If we go off this map it shows an area known as 'Arid'. I feel like this is just a broad term for what kind of area it is. I'm wondering if any lore gurus know about this place as its been bugging me since the map was updated. ArenaNet could have easily cut them off the map but decided to include them for a reason. I am a big fan of speculation and would like to know more about these places if anyone else does knows as perhaps I'm missing something.

Thanks!

Edited by DranerFox.5348
typo
  • Like 1

38 minutes ago, ugrakarma.9416 said:

The landmass on east map is huge too, i wonder why they stretched it, a cancelled part of IB? future projects?

we are near to complete exploring all areas related to GW1. theses areas left have room to a lot of  new stuff.

I am on the side that those maybe our first two locations for the new storyline arriving after EoD.

We still have 70% of the entire planet left unexplored after all.