Ranked PvP Character swap

Tralse.1982

I'll start this off by saying I'm relatively new to GW2 PvP. I've played off and on for years, basically since start, but never really got into PvP. I've started to play semi-regularly and I've noticed something I've never seen before in ranked. Once both teams get into game, during the minute+ of time before game starts, people will swap characters. Is this a bug? Effectively "scouting" the other team, seeing what they have, and swapping to another character that is more effective that at countering the other team.

Balance issues aside (see the many, many posts about Necros, Willbenders, ETC) this seems absurd. Or am I missing something?

• Like 15
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 2

13 minutes ago, Tralse.1982 said:

I'll start this off by saying I'm relatively new to GW2 PvP. I've played off and on for years, basically since start, but never really got into PvP. I've started to play semi-regularly and I've noticed something I've never seen before in ranked. Once both teams get into game, during the minute+ of time before game starts, people will swap characters. Is this a bug? Effectively "scouting" the other team, seeing what they have, and swapping to another character that is more effective that at countering the other team.

Balance issues aside (see the many, many posts about Necros, Willbenders, ETC) this seems absurd. Or am I missing something?

Its normal and multi classing is a good thing. Would you rather rely on RNG and hope you dont get 3 supports?

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2
  • Confused 11

If people played supports more, then I would agree with that statement. The average game I'm seeing right now (and again take this from someone who is new-ish) is 2 necros per team, 1-2 guardians(probably not the support one), and another new elite class. Almost never seen a support class, let alone 2 in 1 game. Maybe thats an anomaly at my rating (Currently low gold).

• Like 4
  • Confused 1