why cant we use different types of armor skins on the same set yet

Entropo.1524

just imagine the fashion war possibilities to be able to use all types of armor ( light , heavy , medium ) on the same set  ... im no progamer but i cant imagine that being difficult right ? but why is it restricted i mean they could maybe just do that for legendary armor 

Edited by Entropo.1524
  • Like 1
  • Haha 2
  • Confused 8

18 hours ago, Entropo.1524 said:

just imagine the fashion war possibilities to be able to use all types of armor ( light , heavy , medium ) on the same set  ... im no progamer but i cant imagine that being difficult right ? but why is it restricted i mean they could maybe just do that for legendary armor 

To do this Anet would have to almost completely remake the entire armor system and each and every armor set.

Its not worth it and its not going to happen.

• Like 7

21 hours ago, Entropo.1524 said:

but why is it restricted

Do you know those old paper dolls that you can dress with cut-out paper clothes? Each doll has their own clothes, because they (usually) are drawn differently and the clothes wouldn't sit right on the wrong doll.

In a way armor weights in this game are similar. Each weight has different models with different places where the armor pieces line up. If you put for example the shirt of one armor weight on a character model and the pants of another armor weight, there's a good likelyhood that they don't match up, but either clip into each other, or worse leave a slice of empty space between them.

It was a design choice when this game was first created, probably to create distinctive silhouettes for each armor weight. I suspect that the developers would do things differently if they would start from scratch today, but as it stands, they choose to go that route back then, and to change it now would mean to re-do most if not all armor pieces in this game from scratch.

• Like 6
  • Thanks 2