Elementalist makes me wanna quit the game

Drakewind.8961

I started playing about a month ago, was trying a few professions but finally settled with the ele. I loved doing the entire story btw. I found a nice guild and got into raiding. That's when I realised that I suck. The worst thing about it is that I researched my build, rotation, gear and the rotation for that boss as power weaver and my friend who is playing power ranger managed to outdo my dps with a lot less effort. I thought it's just the fact that my build requires more skill but having looked at the benchmarks and from general opinion it seems that's not the case. Even if I learn to play my spec to the maximum, ranger is still better at every role when it comes to raiding. Did I forget to mention that as the squishiest profession in the game I would very often get downed by aoe damage even though I was playing according with the mechanics. I was told there is just no reason to pick weaver over any other spec. I had a similar experience with every other aspect of the game. I am getting into pvp with power tempest off meta build and I quite enjoy that it's easy to shut down and I'm still playing on unranked. I was thinking that an elementalist would be useful in various aspects of the game, that a more complicated class would offer a better reward. The problem is that I couldn't find that reward anywhere. Judging by other posts on this subforum, ele in general is not in a good spot, and the most discussions I see that aren't about expressing dissapointment with ele, are about WvW. Is it worth even waiting for the ele to get fixed? I would like to stick with one character that can be good in most aspects of the game.