Specter - Targeting specific allies is an accessibility issue.

Will.9785

I've been playing GW2 for 9 years as a thief main.  I can't use a mouse/keyboard.  I use an alternate input device that maps to keyboard keys and I'm limited in what I can do.  I have to play with action camera.  I can't click on things very easily, so proximity and aiming in the general direction of targets is everything to me.

Given the current implementation, the specter mechanic of tethering to either an ally or an enemy means that I won't be able to play the spec.  As I said before, I can only aim in the general direction, and I can't click on things very easily while in combat, so if my ally is standing on top of an enemy I won't be able to prioritize one over the other.  I don't have a problem playing other supports because no other supports work like this.  I can aim my abilities in the general direction and they will both damage/stun enemies and benefit allies... but not specter.  So as I said, 9 years as a thief main and we finally get a support spec and I can't play it.

Did the people who designed this spec ever even consider people like me?  I have to ask the question.  Why not just tether to enemies and have anyone who stands in the beam receive the support?  Why do we have to click?

• Like 7
  • Confused 6

3 minutes ago, Za Shaloc.3908 said:

Not sure of the full scope of your limitations but just as an FYI there are keybinds for allied targeting. Maybe you could bind them to your mouse buttons?

Appreciate the reply.  I don't use a mouse and I'm limited on keybinds.  Even if I could find room to add allied targeting... I will still have the precision issue (i.e. clicking on the right enemy or ally).  It's part of the reason why I disliked playing Deadeye, because rifle is single target and when enemies are even slightly close together I can't focus the one I want to.

• Like 2

This is the internet and anyone can have anything, be anybody, etc as long as they type it out.