[Suggestion] Real Open World

I've been playing Guild Wars 2 for 3 months and fell in love with the game very quickly. The aesthetics and atmosphere of the game are wonderful. Many areas are so lovingly designed that I probably spent half of my playing time exploring the individual areas. For me, no other MMORPG has such an impressive game world as GW2. The feeling of being in a big, wide game world and finding something interesting around every corner quickly disappears as soon as I ride into another area. I find the portals at regional borders and the loading screen very annoying for the illusion. That does not correspond to my understanding of "open world".

So I hope ArenaNet will change that at some point. I don't want to always go through portals and have a loading screen when I ride into a neighboring area. I don't see any technical necessity in this.

Edit: A compromise for me would be that the areas are still instantiated, but the transitions are not visually noticeable.

How about other players? Does that annoy you too, don't you care or does someone even like it?

Edited by Ryjuk.9384
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Maybe for gw3, because the arena transitions is actually an infrastructure choice, and you can't change those well into the lifetime of a game.

I dislike open world - too much latency issues. Look at WvW. Its a huge map, but lags often in large scale fights if you don't have a monster PC, and 80% of the fights in wvw is large scale.

Just feels to me that theres a tradeoff between** gameplay experience and immersion due to technical limits and I rather have a game thats fun

Edited by Baine.9650
  • Like 5
  • Confused 2

34 minutes ago, Ryjuk.9384 said:

I find the portals at regional borders and the loading screen very annoying for the illusion. That does not correspond to my understanding of "open world".