Why Everyone's Mad About This Patch In Particular: It's Not The Balance

Ragnar.4257

Well yeah.

When talking about underused weapons and utils, as an engineer I'm immediately thinking:

Pistol AA!

Turrets!

The rifle changes were nice but it was far from an underused weapon (which might be owed to the abysmal weapon selection on engi).

I think besides not holding to that promise is that the other changes feel very uninspired and lack both direction and consideration.

E.g. core Mesmer now loses Fury in solo play because its only trait for fury generation got its duration halved and is now a support trait for whatever reason.

Generally speaking a lot of Fury source were added to the game even though Fury was more or less the last problem for most comps because it was already one of the most prevalent boons to give out to others.

Meanwhile Guard still holds onto its quasi-monopoly for Stability.

Overall a lot of the changes feel like they are very strongly catered towards PvE squad play aka raids and strikes and they completely ignore that these changes often make the classes worse or less diverse in every other context. E.g. Draconic Echo was already a great trait that was likely already the most used option in the trait line. Now it is even stronger. Why still take other traits? And as compensation, facet consumes were nerfed. This is just too one-sided and narrow-minded. When trying to transform an e-spec into a new role, taking a more holistic approach than this is super important, otherwise you will just keep creating new problems.

• Like 14
  • Haha 1

I think it's a bit more than that, thought.

A very large part of the vocal community of this subforum is dedicated to sPvP and this vocal community is tired of the uniformity of their gamemode. It's been a while since their was a shake to the meta professions there and the patch do not deliver any promise of change.