Life without Mounts

Could you go back to playing without your favorite mount? For fun I just went back to read some of the posts from people who said that mounts would ruin gaming as we know it.

I know the current maps and story content is based around the Raptor, Skimmer, Springer and Jackal with the optional mounts in there for fun. There are few Waypoints on new maps so getting around quickly requires a mount.

Have they become so ingrained in our game-play we would be lost without them?

I started playing shortly after POF, and while many advised me to use a LV80 boost to get a raptor, I opted instead to run my Ranger on foot from 1-80, and after defeating Zhaitan, only then did I skip to POF to get the raptor and springer, then went and started HoT.

I'm glad I did that at least once, but frankly, this game is much more enjoyable with mounts. The main reason why the first toon I leveled to 80 was a Ranger, and not my Guardian (which is now my main) is because the Ranger has a 25% movement speed signet I could equip.

Been there done that. Once you've seen the content on foot, why not just expedite the process for future run throughs.

Your second question is interesting. Would we be lost without them? The very first thing I remember thinking when I started WvW was "man, we have to walk everywhere???". Of course now with the Warclaw, that isn't the case, but I think we get used to the QoL improvements give, so trying to live without them can be challenging.

Think of it this way: how many times have you caught yourself trying to mount up in a Core/HoT story mission, or then forgotten to do the same in PoF missions.

No, it’s really no problem to do core Tyria and HoT on foot, but mounts make it much more fun! :) PoF would become a dreadful slog, not only because of the few WPs but all the aggro, it would take forever to get anywhere on foot alone.